The Poker Players Alliance Releases List Of Endorsed Congressional Candidates
Wednesday, 27. October 2010

PowerPAC is the Political Action Committee that is run by the Poker Players Alliance (PPA). They have just recently announced their endorsement of just over 50 Congressional candidates for the upcoming 2010 Congressional elections. The list of candidates that the PPA is endorsing does not cover all of the major electoral races across the county it does provide voters with a list of candidates that are more inclined to support the rights of poker players.

Former Senator Alfonse D’Amoto and former House member Toby Moffett stated in a PPA press release that the 2010 elections will be critical “to ensuring that candidates are elected who support the rights of poker players…who choose to take action to protect American consumers.”

The candidates included on the list are made up of 15 Republicans and 43 Democrats. Two of those mentioned on the list are both challenging an incumbent, Joe Garcia (D-FL) and John Callahan (D-PA). The remaining 56 candidates on the list are incumbents that have a history of supporting online poker.

What makes this election of particular importance is Barney Frank’s Internet Gambling Regulation, Consumer Protection and Enforcement Act. This act made an incredible amount of headway in the House of Representatives and the online poker industry and online poker enthusiasts remain hopeful that the legalization and regulation of the industry in the U.S. is soon to follow.

The complete list of Congressional candidates endorsed by the PPA is as follows:

Barney Frank (D-MA)
Suzanne Kosmas (D-FL)
Paul Kanjorski (D-PA)
Christopher Lee (R-NY)
Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
Anthony Weiner (D-NY)
Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA)
Joe Courtney (D-CT)
Connie Mack (R-FL)
Jared Polis (D-CO)
Russ Carnahan (D-MO)
John Adler (D-NJ)
Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
Robert Scott (D-VA)
Bennie Thompson (D-MS)
Dean Heller (R-NV)
Steve Cohen (D-TN)
Harry Reid (D-NV)
Betsy Markey (D-CO)
Paul Hodes (D-NH)
Joe Barton (R-TX)
Steve Israel (D-NY)
Adam Schiff (D-CA)
Joe Garcia (D-FL)
George Miller (D-CA)
Dina Titus (D-NV)
Mary Jo Kilroy (D-OH)
Scott Murphy (D-NY)
Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
Shelley Berkley (D-NV)
Alan Grayson (D-FL)
Robert Andrews (D-NJ)
Jim Moran (D-VA)
John Conyers (D-MI)
John Callahan (D-PA)
Walt Minnick (D-ID)
Kenny Marchant (R-TX)
Jim McDermott (D-WA)
Mel Watt (D-NC)
Lacy Clay (D-MO)
Leonard Lance (R-NJ)
Judy Biggert (R-IL)
Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
Peter King (R-NY)
Pete Sessions (R-TX)
Michael Bennet (D-CO)
Dan Maffei (D-NY)
Jim Gerlach (R-PA)
Tom Perriello (D-VA)
Christopher Murphy (D-CT)
Steve Driehaus (D-OH)
Gary Peters (D-MI)
Darrell Issa (R-CA)
Linda Sanchez (D-CA)
Jim Himes (D-CT)
John Campbell (R-CA)
Ron Paul (R-TX)
John Larson (D-CT)

Visit Full Tilt Poker and checkout their massive lineup of guaranteed tournaments.